I started my career two years ago, well about 2 and half years ago. I have struggled with the attending work like my co-workers and not being so sick that I would not rely on vacation time to compensate for already used sick time. I was fortunate enough to have my first employer work with me on my hrs, so I could continue to work despite my roller coaster of health. I was very fortunate.

I am not in a struggle to complete the eligibility for FMLA. I have not been at my current job for a year yet, so I dont qualify. I get that that the eligibility requirements are made to protect the employer. It makes sense. But tell that to my disease. Crohn’s disease does not remain in remission when you want it to. In fact, it’s the opposite. It’s frustrating, I really love my job and dont want this to become an issue. But I wont have been there for a year until another 5 months. Ok, I will just wave my magic wand and my body will resolve all issues until then. I wish it was that easy.

Please feel free to share your stories or experience with maintaining a career with Crohn’s Disease or your experience with FMLA. Thank you for reading! 🙂

