About 2 years ago, my Crohn’s disease symptoms became very severe including pooping every 20 minutes, lots of stomach pain, leg pain, erythema nodosum, joint swelling, and extreme fatigue. My world was rocked from being in remission for almost 5 years to be slapped back into Crohn’s disease reality! My doctor put me on Humira along with endocort.

I have been on Humira for 2 years now. It has helped a lot with my Crohn’s disease symptoms but I have plateaued with where I am at. The leg pain and joint swelling have significantly decreased. My stomach pain has decreased as well. However, the fatigue and erythema nodosum have stuck around. I also have unilateral labial swelling and a severe rash on my rear that doctors are struggling to diagnose and treat. I have seen the GP, GI, infectious control dr, gynecologist, and now rheumatologist. I have not heard a confirmed diagnosis of what is going on with these new symptoms that won’t go away. But the rheumatologist is concerned that they might be caused by the humira. (which would be the best case scenario.) I have also tested positive for an autoimmune disease through the ANA test. She sent me for more blood work for specific autoimmune diseases.

Regardless, it’s time to stop the Humira. The GI and I have talked about going back and trying Remicaide again. I am not going to get any better with the humira and this is as good as it’s going to get and that’s not good enough for me.

I want to be able to feel good about my body and return to at least moderate physical activity without needing a half a day nap afterward.

I will keep everyone posted on what the blood test results say in regards to having an additional autoimmune disease.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

