I have been considering the AIP Paleo protocol for a while now, probably well over a year. There is a lot of research, blogs, and books out there it can be overwhelming. In fact, it is overwhelming. I have bought multiple books and have started to read some but never finished. For whatever reason and multiple excuses including feeling ill, I have put it off.

Recently, I have been sick with a stomach bug or new type of Crohn’s flare and the GI isn’t sure yet. (The good news is I am on the mend now!) But this has sparked me to revisit the AIP again and “give it a go” for my best chance at healing. (I am currently on a restrictive diet that is gluten free, dairy free, and low fiber- under the supervision of my holistic doctor.) With that being said, I still eat some processed foods – such as gluten-free and dairy-free pretzels and graham crackers, which give me gas so I know I am not digesting them well. Also, these foods are not nutrient dense. I also eat mashed potatoes occasionally which do not give me problems. Tired of repeated sickness, I want to heal and my best chance is with AIP and my current medications and holistic treatments. (Staying healthy with an autoimmune disease is like a full time job that can be exhausting!)

Again, feeling overwhelmed by all the literature that exists; I didn’t know where to begin. Then I came across the book: A Simple Guide to the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol by Eileen Laird. I read this book in a day! It breaks down the AIP into it’s simplest form and outlines the do’s and don’ts for you. The book also takes a holistic approach covering stress and sleep- two important factors for the protocol! Eileen provides many different strategies on lifestyle management as well.

12339097_10205095555337827_6334335486015639423_o-670x1024.jpg

My favorite things about this book include:

  1. The book is small enough to fit into my purse to take to the grocery store with me!
  2. Eileen clearly outlines the AIP protocol so that this book is an easy to use guide! She leaves the detailed science to Sarah Ballantine, PhD in her book: The Paleo Approach. (This is where I started because I want to know the science supporting this- but its a lot of information to digest at one time- but this is the book I am going to revisit again next to further understand the protocol. Very valuable information in The Paleo Approach as well! )
  3. I love how she reiterates that the strictest part of the AIP is only temporary. She clearly defines the re-introductory phase and that patience is required! For myself, I need this clearly written out like it is in this book, to reference again and again! I struggle with patience especially when it comes to foods!

 

I cannot stress how much this book is a valuable resource for the AIP! And its only 10 dollars and fits right in your purse!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

*photo found on google image search

 

 

