Cancer. My grandma’s breast cancer has returned. This time in her other breast. She’s in denial about it and refuses to proceed with treatment at this time. I understand her reasons but at the same time it’s hard to hear. She just found out this week so she still has time to change her mind. 

I need to make a conscious effort to spend more time with her. I went to see her today and she is such a spit fire- I love it! Someone called her the other day in regards to surveying people about who they were going to vote for in the election and she told the person on the phone it was none of their business with a few other choice words lol. 

If it wasn’t for my grandma I wouldn’t have been able to earn my doctorate. She helped me with my loans so I could earn my degree. I will forever be thankful to her! She’s helped me in so many ways. I don’t want to waste the precious time I have with left with her. As I am older now, I appreciate her more and laugh with her over adult humor because that’s just the way we are. The more I learn about her, the more I realize how much my father takes after her. Neither one of them is overly affectionate, but they have huge hearts and their own way of showing you they love you., 

She really has a huge heart. I know that me having crohns is hard for her. It was really hard for her to adjust to my dietary restrictions for a while. She shows her love through her cooking. I sure do miss her sugar cut out Christmas Cookies! The rest of the family is probably glad that I can’t eat them because I ate 80% of them, lol. Grandma did adjust to dietary restrictions; she makes me applesauce now. She also took to my Ostomy surgery well. She’s happy to see me feeling better. She always ask how o feel every time I see her now. And prior to surgery she always reassured me that surgery would help. And my disease is something we really never talked about. I love her. 

I treat my dog Suzie like my child. She’s my fur baby. And my grandma also treats her family. She tells Sue that she is her baby and tells her girlfriends about “her doggie” to the point if she’s on the phone and we come over she’s got to go because her doggie is here- not her grand-daughter. Hahaha! 

  
(Suzie) 

Spend time with your loved ones. Say I love you. Hug them. Time is precious! 

Thanks for reading! 🙂

* first photo compliments of google image search 

