Fun with my ostomy! Say what?!?!

My surgeon has written a script for me to use a two- piece ostomy system by hollister with a clear bag. I am not a fan of the clear bag because I don’t want to look at poop as I am sure neither does the anyone else whom I may come in contact with. The only thing I do like about the clear bags is seeing the stoma. I like to double check it’s looking healthy. I have named my Stoma, Stomie. So I like to check on Stomie from time to time! 

With that said, I have been searching the Internet for ways to jazz up Stomie’s bag. I found a way to creatively add duct tape to the bag and leave the opening so I can see Stomie. Others may choose to cover the flange. It’s all personal preference. Credit to the idea goes Sierra Boring- she posted the idea on a Facebook support group. Thank you Sierra! 

  
(My first bag I covered with duct tape) 

The only thing I don’t like about covering the bag with duct tape is it makes the bag more rigid and it is just wierd wo me when emptying it. Not really that big a deal. You must be very careful not to cut the bag! I accidentally did today and I didn’t know it until I was emptying my bag and poop seeped out! Yikes! 

After the poop leaked out from the hole I accidentally cut in it decorating it, I thought I will try and make a fabric cover for it. I have  house warming party to attend tomorrow and a cover would be nice to wear. So I googled how to make one, bought the material, and hand stitched one to trial as my first one! (Shout out to my mom who supports everything I do and instill confidence in me! I love you mom!) 

  
(My first ostomy cover I made!- not bad considering I hand stitched it and I rushed it because I was tired.) 

Cheers to new crafting adventures for ostomy accessories! Bringing fashion and fun to ostomies! 

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Published by jcrohnie715

Hi! My name is Jacquie... you can call me... Jacquie, Jax, Jack, JC, jcrohnie, or whatever other clever nickname you can come up with! :) I am always open to new nicknames. I recently turned 30 and I am not sure how I feel about it yet, lol. I also have Crohn's disease. I was diagnosed when I was 16 years old. It's been a roller coaster ride to say the least. I currently live my parents as I try to manage my health. I also have two dogs that I love more than anything. I intend to share my realities about living with Crohn's disease... even the gut wrenching details. I suffer from multiple GI and non-GI symptoms related to crohn's disease. I had surgery in 2007 to have 2 feet of my colon removed. I was in remission for 5 years and now symptoms are back as fierce as ever. I tend to find the humor in most of my everyday life- so I plan to share my humor with you. I plan to share the realities of anxiety and depression as well. I tried to be so resilient to both anxiety and depression... but the truth is it happens. It makes me human... not super girl! Which is good because I don't think I could sport spandex and a cape, lol. :) Anyways, I intended to share my everyday adventures and misadventures, diet and lifestyle changes, holistic approaches I try, medications, symptoms, and life with Crohn's! Happy reading and thanks for stopping by my blog!

Share your thoughts, opinions, experiences, and/ or support here...